11
Apr
10

Mission running

Missions in EVE work like this: you dock at a station, you talk to an agent of the organisation that runs that station, and they ask you to do thing X for reward Y. Thing X can be mining (‘bring me this worthless ore!’), combat (‘shoot these pirates!’), courier (‘take this stuff somewhere else!’), or trade, which I presume is different from courier but wouldn’t know about since no agents currently like me enough to give me those missions, w0e.

As with everything else in EVE, it’s a bit more complicated than that. But that’s the general idea.

Doing these missions gives you the following benefits:

  1. Money! ISK, the in-game currency.
  2. Stuff, sometimes, in place of money.
  3. Money and stuff, if it’s a combat mission – you often get bounty prizes for shooting the bad guys, and you can loot and salvage their wrecks for goodies.
  4. Loyalty points with that organisation. You can spend these loyalty points to get hugely discounted stuff from the organisation’s LP store. It works like tokens on cornflake packets, basically.
  5. That organisation likes you incrementally more, which (eventually) gives you access to better agents, who reward you with more of items 1-4.

For a few days, I’ve been running missions with one particular organisation – Minmatar Mining Corporation – to build up my standings with them. Then an agent from another organisation contacted me to offer me a mission shooting some pirates. Agents seeking you out is a good thing, because a) these are the kind of missions that often give you stuff instead of money, and b) as humans we are weak and feeble creatures who get all sorts of pleased when anybody asks for our help. “They want me to shoot the Sanshas? Little old me? Ohmigosh I’m special!” Cue fantasies of Gwyneth Paltrow’s Oscar speech etc. etc., as you warp to the area of space where said pirates are lurking, hum victory marches, turn your guns on them and… get shot to hell and limp back with your tail between your legs.

EVE teaches humility the tough way.

So anyway, I can’t fight those pirates until I’ve worked on a few more gunnery skills. I adjust my training queue to include a bunch more of said skills. Excellent! Except, that leaves me with about 48 hours before the training’s done, and now I’m stuck in this area of space quite a distance from the mining corporation I was working for before. I could go back, or I could hang around this solar system and see what else is on offer. And to be honest, mining missions are getting sort of boring.

Right next to me is a station run by the Sisters of Eve, who I’ve been meaning to do some more missions for for a while now. Excellent! I don’t have great standings with them at the moment, so I’m stuck running level 1 courier missions for loose change, but we all start somewhere.

My first courier mission: Agent wants some beef. I am sent to fetch a cow from a neighbouring station and bring said cow to said agent.
Second courier mission: Agent needs some pistols. Ditto, with pistols.
Third courier mission: Agent wants more beef. I am sent to fetch another cow.
Fourth mission… but we’ll pause here.

This is the description of the Sisters of EVE organisation that the game gives you:

The Sisters of EVE are a humanitarian aid organization that is based on religion. The Sisters operate many stations outside empire space where weary travelers can seek refuge. SOE is also engaged in a scientific research project on the EVE gate, which they consider to be the gateway to heaven and are determined to unlock its secrets.

So they’re space-nuns, basically. Charitable space-nuns. Who give aid. And comfort. And religious support. And here I am, in a lengthy run of courier missions that go like this:

  • cow
  • guns
  • cow
  • guns
  • these miners are striking and annoying me; take them far away, that’ll teach ’em
  • guns
  • this place is infested with rats; get me a janitor
  • cow.

Yeah.

Sisters of EVE: they are not what you think.

1 Response to “Mission running”


  1. June 2, 2010 at 6:32 am

    Was just a few days ago I finished my epic arc storyline mission working for them the SoE. I actually had seemed them out after doing all the tutorial like the tutorial agents had hinted at so many times.

    I must have had a initial good impression on SoE because they didn’t offer me any new starter missions like those since I guess it was the epic arc missions. I completed the story mission over 50 of them I think in total and was a fun story to see it completely unravel to the end which at the end left me wondering about the SoE in the story.

    The next agent for SoE that was available during the time I was doing my story arc mission was a lvl 1 quality 16 Agent. I did a few after my story mission was complete to continue to raise my standing. I never got any those cow missions :) I mostly got missions to assist some stranded traveler and move some goods from A to B as well as remove some pirates that moved into the area causing trouble. I need to go back and work on them at some point to raise my standings just for fun.


Leave a Reply

About

A new EVE Online player comes to term with spreadsheets, spaceships and the steepest learning curve in MMO history. (SPACESHIPS, you guys!)

Archives

On Twitter

  • Okay, we still have a wormhole. Phew. 4 years ago
  • I don’t even know if we still have a wormhole. Do we still have a wormhole? 4 years ago
  • Been playing Skill Training Online for the past few months. Pregnant, sick, too sick even to watch station spinning, bah. 4 years ago
  • Away on a work trip for the next ten days. Passport, check… boarding pass, check… Torpedos V in skill queue, check… 4 years ago
  • That guy in the pod set me as contact with terrible standing as I warped off with his stuff, too. It’s ok, guy! It went to a good home! 4 years ago

